Just popping in for a visit.

What do you do when you get a phonecall at 9:00pm from your husband saying that in 5 minutes he’s coming home and we are having visitors? Well I tell you this is what I did.

Freaked out, said a few expletives under my breath and then ran around like a chicken with it’s head chopped off, threw the folded washing from the couch into the passageway (not so folded now!), hid the piles of dishes under the sink (so they don’t get washed for me!) and then started cooking dinner. Yes you read that right. I started cooking dinner as it’s the hospitable thing to do when you have visitors drop around at 9pm in Jordan.

What do you serve for dinner at 9pm. I served what we refer to as “breakfast dinner”. Lots of little things that might also appear on a breakfast tray here in Jordan along with some other dishes and utilising some leftovers from lunch.

So I served fried cauliflower with lemon juice, hummus, labeneh (thick yohgurt) with olive oil, dukkah, chopped tomato and cucumber, rice, potato chips and kibbeh (which I had in the freezer). And of course lots of bread. What’s an Arabic meal without at least 2 carbs and even better when there’s the trifecta of potatoes, bread and rice!

IMG_1772 IMG_1780 IMG_1783 IMG_1784

15 responses to “Just popping in for a visit.

    • Thanks Carole. I’m glad that you are enjoying reading my blog. At least I got some notice this time! There have been times when the visitors have turned up after 9pm and I’m in my pj’s!

    • Still can’t say that I’m used to it! Although I do try and be half prepared coming into the warmer “social” months and make sure that the house can be “clean” and under control in 5 minutes in case of those unexpected visits.

  1. Yep I would die a little death. I love visitors and who doesn’t love spontaneous visitors, but 5 minutes notice to prepare food…. That’s verging on mayhem…. Swearing under your breath… that is terribly controlled of you…. i would have probably blurted out…. mfo etc…. words that I can’t believe I even know. Good thing you have food and a cunning plan. Sounds like you have thought this through very well. Lets hope they don’t read your posts or they will be on to you and will know to look into your cubboards for suspicious evidence for rhe unwashed plates. I hope your meal and visit went well.

  2. Oh. Haha. Oh no! I’m amazed that you could pull something so lovely together in such short notice. I love visitors, but it takes me days to get ready! And to think how often I was invited to dinner when I was there. Bless them…

    • That’s the Jordanian way to invite you share a meal with them. They are so hospitable and it’s so genuine and heartfelt. It’s definitely a part of living here that I love so much. Although personally I do prefer if they would come for lunch!! 🙂

  3. Love this post. My Scottish mum is married to an Iraqi, and even after 30 years she still hasn’t got used to the ‘I’m on my way’ style of things! I think I’m much less tolerant to this habit than she is 🙂
    Pile the carbs and throw in a few things and you’ll be praised for your hospitality!

  4. Pingback: My microwave the “halfway house”! | Middle East Moments·

  5. I love this practice! Well, I say that now, whilst I’m sitting on my couch, blissfully ignorant of the reality of such things! My husband’s friends must have been Jordanian in another life. They do pretty much the same thing; turn up at 9pm or so expecting food! I’ve adjusted to keep large batches of leftovers in the fridge (always something meaty, as that’s what boys like!) plus homemade hummus, lots of avocadoes (for good ol’ guacamole with salsa) and corn chips. I really don’t think they’ll be any different until they get married. Actually, one of his bachelor mates remarked on why he didn’t bother do go shopping: “Well, Laura and Aaron are just up the road…”!!
    You did an amazing job with the ‘breakfast dinner’. Love the look of that gorgeous bread. Despite my annoyance with the above ‘bachelor practices’ it’s nice to know that in some ways, people are both different and the same between our countries. I think you’re amazing, Andrea. You’ve adapted to the unfamiliar so, so well xx

  6. Pingback: Celebrating Eid al Fitr | Middle East Moments·

Leave a Reply

