Traditional Way of Life

There are many activities here that are still done in the traditional manner as they have been for hundreds of years.

This spring heralded lots of green growth after the wet winter that we had. I watched in fascination as this growth in the valley where we live was pulled by hand and collected to be feed to the sheep. Huge piles of the green growth were collected and tied together and the hauled to a waiting ute to take to back to the sheep.

IMG_1589 IMG_1603 IMG_1605 IMG_1608

This ute load took all day to pull and collect.

I love watching of an early evening, as the sun is starting to send it’s lengthening rays through the valley, the shepherds bringing their sheep down from the hills and home to their encampments. I loved that the shepherd was lovingly carrying the smallest member of the flock home.

IMG_2075 IMG_2077 IMG_2078

IMG_1986

The crops have already ripened and harvesting has begun just up from the Bedouin camp. This is also done by hand from first light to last light, with bent over back, first harvesting the ripe heads of wheat, followed by pulling the stubble for animal food.

IMG_1980

IMG_1982 IMG_1983  IMG_1987

There is a peacefulness watching these traditional methods in play.

16 responses to “Traditional Way of Life

  1. Wow. I just got this really strange feeling in my chest, reading your beautiful words and looking at pictures of shepherds and grassy wheat fields. Peaceful. Kind of like I’m looking through a window into the past… a civilization that’s been almost untouched by modern agriculture and so-called ‘development’. I’ve been to a couple of friend’s sheep farms, inland from Perth, and… well, now I feel sad that the little lambs don’t experience the great outdoors whilst being lovingly carried home. They spend most of their lives grazing in a paddock before the inevitable comes! Not that that’s entirely bad… but there’s so much beauty in the Jordanian existence. Thanks for sharing these beautiful photos Andrea xx

    • I know exactly what you mean as I get that feeling when I’m sitting there watching these scenes in the early evening. I love being engulfed in the peacefulness and calmness that abounds. It’s natural way of meditating as before I even realise it I’m letting go of any angst or busyness from the day that has been and letting myself just breathe.

      • That sounds like a beautiful way to end each day. I guess in moments like that, when your mind clears, all of the frustrating things about the place would fade away. I normally go to the beach here to do the same. Doesn’t really compare but it’s the closest thing to untouched wilderness here in Perth 🙂

  2. We did see people harvesting the wheat & the green while we were visiting Jordan. Unfortunately, I was unable to take pictures of it so thanks for these lovely pictures. (Suzanne)

    • It’s one of the advantages of living here is that I can take the time to watch these activities rather than just from the window of the car. I’m trying to pluck up the courage though to go and speak to the people harvesting to ask if I could take some photos close up. I’m just not sure how they would respond, so for the time being I’ll just watch from the hill.

      • Hello again!

        I’ve been wanting to feature some expat stories on my blog under the Beyond the Map category. (It’s here if you want to read about it http://caravanserai230.wordpress.com/caravanserai-230-beyond-the-map/)

        I thought since you were in Jordan it might follow on nicely from the Married to a Bedouin post I did for Beyond the Map a couple of weeks ago?

        My blog is very new and you’d be the first one so we could structure it however you like… some Q&A with photos or a direct link to a post of yours?

        I read that you miss the AFL. We are huge AFL fans here! I lived OS for a few years and I really missed the AFL! We used to get up really early on the weekend and watch games that were a week old! How sad!
        (Bombers fans – 4 generations…you?)

        Leonie

        • Hi Leonie I would be delighted to be featured on Beyond the Map! And I’m happy to be led by you as to how you would like it to look – it is your blog!!! I’m just happy to do it.
          It’s probably just as well that I’ve overseas as I’m a sad Melbourne supporter – only 2 generations, but my Dad still goes to every game and watches his poor beloved Dees get thrashed. I’m certainly not missing out on any glory years!
          Andrea

          • Never fear. I think the Dees are on the right track with their new coach. They have Sydney tomorrow which could be brutal though…

            Have you got an email address so I can send you some questions etc? I think it’s going to be great. I’m also interviewing a friend of mine who is a winemaker in Beechworth. Soon my blog will be filled with inspirational, exciting ladies from all over the world!

          • Yes! I did, thank you.
            Our little boy is 1 today and for some reason his birthday has taken up a whole week of time!
            I’ll send the questions over to you. I’m looking forward to it too!

            Leonie

  3. Pingback: Changing Seasons | Middle East Moments·

  4. Pingback: Showy blooms and the race against the sheep | Middle East Moments·

Leave a Reply

