What’s in the back?

I’m not sure that I will ever reach a point where seeing camels in the back of a small ute will be “normal”. Everytime I see them (and it’s a fairly common occurrence) I still say to Atef Β “look there’s a camel in the back of the ute”. He humoured me yesterday and slowed down so that I could get a photo as I’ve been wanting to get one since I first came to Jordan. This is not the best I’ve seen as there was but one camel in the back. I’ve seen the same size ute with two camels in the back and then the farmer decide that there was still room to spare so put a couple of sheep in the back as well. It was a very cosy ride! I so wish that I had been able to get a photo of that but not to be!

IMG_2243 IMG_2247

 

9 responses to “What’s in the back?

  1. Well, when you come from semi-urban Australia these photos inevitably put a lasting smile on one’s face πŸ™‚ ! I mean, have seen all kinds of living creatures in the back of a ute, BUT: and then the blessed camel seems to be as interested in you as you are in him!! Posing!!

  2. Saw this in Morocco! I’m always thrilled to see a camel ANYWHERE! But when I realize that they’re just like cows here, it makes me realize how I must sound to a Moroccan oohing and aahing over a cow! πŸ™‚

  3. On my visit to Jordan I also saw camels in the back of a small ute, and pointed it out to Jamel as we drove past. He pulled over to let the ute pass, and then drove up behind it so that I could get a picture of it. That ute had four camels in it, although they were young. I think I’ll post it on my blog. Thanks for the idea.

  4. Pingback: Hitching a Ride | If It Was Today…·

Leave a Reply

