Not quite to my taste!

I have been meaning to bring you another blog post, since I wrote this one, about the interior stylings of some of the houses that I have visited here in Wadi Musa. Let’s just say that most are certainly not to my taste, but then each to their own and variety is what makes the world go around!

I would love to be able to share with you photos of some of the more interesting choices for interior stylings but it is very hard to take a photo on your phone without being noticed.

I did manage to get a quick shot of this Arabic style sitting room. I have to say that I didn’t mind the the fabric or the style of the traditional Arabic seating. What I did question was the choice of paint colour used on the wall to “match” the seating. And I do mean match as the paint had been chosen specially to go with the seating. The two walls in the photo are a lurid pistachio green colour, and a lilac colour (looks greyish in the photo). Photo has not be altered in anyway – this is how it really was! What I didn’t manage to get a photo of is the other two walls in the room, one of which was a sickly yellow green colour and the other a darker purple.

Why limit yourself to one colour when you have four walls!

IMG_1219

 

14 responses to “Not quite to my taste!

    • There is definitely a lot of love in these houses and you certainly feel it as well as being made to feel so welcome that you are made to feel as if you are part of the family which is incredibly humbling. This still hasn’t stopped my jaw from dropping at some of the more colourful expressions of interior decorating! Its a wonderful thing that we are all different. 🙂

  1. O yes! ‘Beauty is in the eye of the beholder’ springs to mind! Definitely, a cultural thing as I noticed on my compound in Saudi the Thai, Philippina, Eastern European and even American women would decorate their houses in different ways.

    • Definitely beauty is in the eye of the beholder. I’m sure that the women here find my choice of a soft latte colour for the walls in every room of the house very dull and boring! lol 🙂 Hope you are finding your feet again being back home.

  2. ‘To each their own’ methinks goes their saying!! Methinks the family has attempted to make their seating area as comfortable [look at the arm rests!] as possible . . . they’d probably find how we like it quite ‘plain and dull’!! Blessings but I SO do what you mean!!

    • Just came back to some comments I did not anticipate! I was attempting to be as diplomatic as I could, but actually the point Andrea makes is palpable – yes, to ‘each their own’ as I said before, but where is the elegance, where is the style in what she shows? None!!! By birth I come from NE Europe and the ‘contemporary plain look’ may just denote understanding and taste!!

      • The seating is definitely comfortable!!! There are some here who certainly have a different sense of style and in what they see as beautiful from myself. As another person commented beauty is in the eye of the beholder and this is very true as this house was lovingly decorated and there was real pride and sense of accomplishment in the outcome. I hope no one was offended by me posting this picture as that most certainly was not what I was wanting to do. I was just highlighting one of the many differences in the way of life here compared to the way of life where I grew up on Australia. Whilst I see loud and bright colours in this home they must see dull and boring in mine! But then I don’t have to live in this home nor them in mine and we are all happy and comfortable with our choices. 🙂

        • Were you in my home at the moment it would be a soft coffee latte all around 🙂 ! And mostly Scandinavian style minimalist furniture interspersed by some Japanese and other SE Asian finds . . . . methinks we would be most comfortable in each others’ homes 😀 !!

  3. That’s so funny because I have always questioned the interior design of homes in the states, I feel like here people barely put time into decorating their houses and I abhor that contemporary, plain look that seems to be popular in the states and most Anglo-American homes…I love the over the top, colorful, and fancy styles of the Middle-East and European homes. One thing I have noticed is that overseas women take a much greater joy in decorating their home, down to having the best china and silverware…I just don’t see that same passion here in the states.
    It is funny but my family buys all of their furniture, curtains, pillows etc…from Turkey, Jordan and Italy….the stuff here is just too plain! I actually love the look above it is beautiful, cheerful, and elegant, but to each their own! My mom has a more simple taste, so she would probably agree with you 🙂

    • Diversity and differences are indeed something that should be celebrated and I think it’s wonderful that we all have different tastes and styles. It keeps things interesting and if nothing else gives us something to talk about. Another aspect of decorating that gave me a chuckle is that when I was decorating our home, yes I did choose a soft latte colour for all the walls in the house, but have combined it with soft furnishings and fittings that reflect the colour, vibrancy and traditions of the culture in which I live but they are pieces that are considered old fashioned by some here. I had a great time picking out oriental/Persian style rugs for the house and there were those who couldn’t understand why I wasn’t choosing more abstract contemporary and modern designs, whereas I love the traditional colours and designs of these “old fashioned” rugs. Just shows we are all unique and have our own sense of style. 🙂

  4. Love it! Reminds me of a story my mother told me about the old school houses she and dad lived in back in the 50’s and early 60’s where all the walls would be different colors. They’d travel with various rolls of lino and boxes of curtains then use whatever would be most suitable as these were all colorful as well, lol – the joys of traveling, even within one’s own state of Australia! 🙂

  5. Oh wow. That colour and pattern are definitely unique for those of us who are more suited to Australian ‘natural’ colour schemes. Haha.. I think that all people from Arabic countries would view my home as being entirely boring. There’s no colour except for the random accessories that Aaron and I have strewn around the place! xx

Leave a Reply

