Changing Seasons

One of things that has amazed me most about living in Wadi Musa/Petra, Jordan is the clear distinction between the seasons. Prior to living here, like many people, when I thought of the Middle East the images that came to mind were of hot, dry, dusty landscapes, desert and sand (lots of sand).

With an altitude of approximately 1200 metres above sea level in Petra we experience all four seasons and the landscape changes accordingly.

Winters are cold and providing the conditions are right we receive snowfall. This year in January we had quite a lot of snow.

10th Jan 2013

If we have had a wet winter then in Spring the landscape turns very green.

18th Apr 2013

Summer brings with it long hot days and the returning of the landscape to hues of brown. The green of Spring is all but a distant memory as the crops turn golden ready to be harvested.

1st June 2013

This series of photos are from the balcony of our house looking south. I will have to complete the series with a photo of Autumn in a couple of months time when the leaves of the orchard in the centre left of the photos are turning. Autumn is perhaps the season that is hardest to see visually as most of the trees around us are non deciduous and those that are deciduous turn and shed their leaves in the space of a couple of weeks.

I hope this post has given you some insight into a different kind of Middle East than you probably imagined.

10 responses to “Changing Seasons

  1. True, I also imagined Middle East as only a hot place. So cool to read this and see the photos. Even snow, unbelievable! Amazing view you have from your balcony πŸ™‚

  2. Thank you for this: I did not quite envisage snow in your habitat either πŸ™‚ ! Well, you are at 1200 metres and I at 200 m, even if we call ourselves to live in the ‘Highlands’! πŸ™‚ ! So hope you are able to create warmth!!!!

    • It certainly takes a fair bit to keep the house warm. Jordanian houses really aren’t designed for extreme cold weather – built from cement brick and no insulation. We use gas heaters to warm the house and in winter we use 1 large gas bottle every week which is not cheap!

  3. Thankyou Andrea they are really beautiful and very different to what I expected. Like you I thought it would always be hot. What wonderful views you have. Love Robyn

    • I really love the distinct seasons that we get here – certainly adds to the beauty. Not sure that I could do hot and brown all year round. You’ll have to come and visit and experience the view from our balcony for yourself! xx

  4. Wow. The three contrasts are so distinct and beautiful. Can’t believe how much the landscape can change in a year (we Aussies know ‘grey-green’ and ‘brown-green’ well, but the change isn’t quite as vast). Thanks so much for these windows into the ‘real’ Middle East. The more I read of your beautiful blog, the more I realise just how little I know! xx

    • I really didn’t know much about the Middle East before coming here either. Still learning tonnes of new things every day! You will have to come and visit this wonderful country one day. I’ll give you a personal tour of the Jordan that I’m getting to know. xx

      • I would love that. You’d be the most wonderful guide, seeing as you’ve experienced such a steep learning curve over the years. My husband and I are very interested in the Middle East but I know Aaron feels a bit intimidated at the idea of taking me there (just his manly protective thing kicking in). We’ll see what happens. I’d be so blessed to spend a bit of time with you though xx

Leave a Reply

